twelveviewsoneworld:

.

Twelve Views – One World  // The interview

Featuring – Martyn James

___________________________________________________

-Please, be so kind to introduce yourself in a few short sentences.

Hi, I’m Marty. I was born and raised by the sea but now live in London, England

-When did you start taking photos?

I first started taking photos in my teens – my first piece of kit was a simple black plastic box pin hole camera which used 4 inch wide pieces of photographic paper. You then poured the developing chemicals into the box and it created wonderful things. I then progressed onto a manual 35mm film camera called a Lordomat – a hand me down from my dad. Later I got a Nikon FG 35mm film camera which really opened up my interest in the hobby. I also went through a phase of processing and developing black and white in a darkroom I set up in a cellar – halcyon days! 

-Do you consider yourself a professional photographer or do you take photos just for fun?

I take photos just for fun!

-Speaking of photography. What’s your favorite genre or style? (Black and White, Portraits, Nature, …)

I don’t have a particular favourite style – I appreciate all kinds of genres. I’m frequently inspired by images I stumble upon and often attempt to replicate techniques and ideas. I am though, particularly fond of the unusual – especially quirky production techniques, multiple exposures and working with low light.

-How did you hear about our project and why did you decide to participate?

It was difficult not to miss the TVOW project as it’s output has poured down my dashboard from the very beginning.

-Do you believe in the expression “A picture is worth 1,000 words”? If so, why do you believe it’s true?

I do believe a picture is worth a 1’000 words. Why? Hmm, well to me, a picture is almost like the DNA of a communication. A message which unravels as it unfolds in the mind of the observer. When you look at a picture you connect with a range of memories and thoughts.

-Do you think that a person must possess talent to capture emotion and expression in a picture?

I do believe that a person must possess talent to capture emotion and expression in a picture. I also believe that this talent may be transitory – it comes and goes. I also believe that everyone is born with this talent – though it just might take it’s time to surface.

 -What do you enjoy most about photography?

I like the fact that photography focuses me to see the world differently, often from new angles. I also like the way the hobby encourages me to be resourceful and inventive. 

-What attracts your eye when scouting for photo subjects?

Anything cool, fabulous or just unusual I guess.

-Last but not least, Do you want to say something to the TVOW/photography community?

Keep shooting and sharing.


Take care!
Marty

___________________________________________________

Find Marty’s work here:

Tumblr 

___________________________________________________

The TVOW crew 

Tumblr I Facebook Page

Leave a Reply

