wordpainting:

Since mid-March of this year, I have been sending query letters to agents all over the country (and parts of Europe) in hopes to get representation for my first novel. I’ve sent around 50 query letters and have received two positive responses. I have posted here the most promising response, which ended as a bust. However, they provided me with enough feed back and suggestions to make me go back and rework certain parts of the novel. These letter at least give me hope that my work has potential. I just need to find the right agent for it.

I am not at liberty to publish on my blog the names, e-mail addresses, and address of this literary agency. So, I have either marked those through (as you can see) or simply cut them out.

I’m so glad you shared this.  I started sending out query letters last week – to date I’ve only sent out five – and I plan on doing something similar to this as responses start to come back.  There are definite lessons to draw from this kind of feedback.

Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

