This is a big writing week for me

This week I start working with Dave on editing my novel manuscript. As I mentioned before, I selected Dave King (of Dave King Editorial Services) for a number of reasons. First, Dave is an accomplished writer (having written a popular book on fiction editing), and an accomplished editor who has worked with a number of published clients.  Also, I like his style.  He actually mentors writers, showing how and why he thinks a revision needs to happen.  When all is said and done, my novel should be tighter, and my personal editing skills should be more respectable. So I’m very excited by this. After we finish the prologue, I’m thinking of posting it here for feedback.

I also just completed a short story.  It’s a draft, and definitely needs work, but I’m happy with it.  I’m not sure it’s ultimate home, however.  I plan on posting some of it on here, but I was thinking about submitting it to a writing contest.  There are a few out there for short stories, and a common requirement for submission is that the story hasn’t been published online anywhere.  So I’m still working through that.

So, it’s a New Year, and I already like how things are going.  The next big step will be the query letter.  That is intimidating.

Leave a comment